Anomalies

Somehow, every society have their own set of norms as if someone had set it for everyone to follow.

I sometimes find it quite annoying. Whenever something out of the norm happens, it becomes a huge thing and sometimes, the talk of the town. One example is STOMP. Ok la, it’s a good platform to pint point the bad habits of Singaporeans but it gets to the point that you criticise one another for the smallest of things. Really? A NS man even got stomp-ed for sitting in the MRT cabin. Alright, some will argue that they are suppose to have more resilience, country before self, *inserts all the patriotic things that can be said* but I find these platforms a little too one sided. Hey. Don’t you know how tiring their training is? It ain’t cloud nine at Tekong.

Anyways, that wasn’t what I really want to touch on in this post. Well, what I’m going to touch on is mainly LGBT. For starters, “sex” refers to the biological differences between males and females, such as the genitalia and genetic difference whereas “gender” is more difficult to define but can refer to the role of a male or female in society (gender role), or an individual’s concept of themselves (gender identity).

Sometimes, a person’s genetically assigned sex does not line up with their gender identity. These individuals might refer to themselves as transgender, non-binary or gender-nonconforming. We express our gender identity in the way that we act masculine, feminine, neither, or both. Some of us are transgender — which means that our biological sex and our gender identity do not match up. Each of us also has a sexual orientation. You may be bisexual, gay, lesbian or straight.

Do I support it? No. Do I condemn it? No. Simply put, I’m just part of the neutral party. I don’t get why such a small matter always get too much attention. Hey, they are human too who just wanna love and be who they wanna be/feel they should. Yes, I know after saying that, people will usually bombard with theses typical set of points:

  • religion
  • intelligence

I know that many religions don’t support it. However, what more can you do after you preach to them about the consequences etc? Feelings are an emotional state or reaction. How one feels towards something, someone or an idea differs from person to person. You cannot expect people to have a quick change of heart after talking to them.

Someone once told me “eh you know, LGBTs are intellectually dumb?”. Woi. What made you say that? How can being a homosexual make you less intellectually inclined? It’s like saying because I prefer indoor sports, I can’t play outdoor sports at all cause of the sun/court/idk what. Where is the link?

LGBTs to me, are one of the strongest of people in society today. Like I said, I don’t support it, neither do I hate it, but to have met with 3 people in only 15 years had made me understand the importance of understanding a situation before making any remarks or criticisms. Knowing that there are people like these is one thing but understanding what they face daily is another; I never knew why my relatives always criticised my grandma’s friend about the way she/he dresses or the way he/she behaves. At 10, I never understood why he’s treated that way. At 14, I never understood why my NPCC ma’am’s so strong and cheerful in real life despite all the hateful comments that she received because of her sexuality. At 15, now, I truly understand the hardships which they face.

Just when I realised that I’m getting more and more involved with these kinda people, here I am being taught by one of them. Seeing him on the bus since secondary 1 with his resting bitch face is one of the many reasons why I remember him. Despite the countless number of people criticising and making fun of him and his professionalism to him and offline, he’s still cheerful and open in class. He really is a great teacher. He is engaging and never fails to get us into a heated discussion. I talked to a teacher yesterday regarding this yesterday and really, she even agreed with me that she often sees him down unless approached by anyone. It’s amazing how someone is able to do that.

Having the opportunity to grow in and outside of Singapore has made me more observant to my surroundings. The way these people are treated in different parts of the world is really appalling to me. It’s either they are outcasted or treated equally. In my short trip to Penang, I was served by transexual men at different convenience stores. In those convenience stores, everyone conversed with him with respect, be it a local or an outsider. I have yet to encounter someone like that here in Singapore but I really do wish that they are given equal treatment.

It’s sad that people use other’s sexuality as an excuse to make fun of them. Hey. If you don’t know that they’re of different sexual orientation I’m certain that the way people will treat them is way different. All these observations and the dense comments that people make, I really hope will fade away in a few years time or even decades if it has to. If you really despise them, keep it to yourselves.

 

Leave a Reply

